FAQs | Online Sales | Text Links

Middle TN RTA on Twitter Middle TN RTA on Facebook Middle TN RTA on Instagram

About RTA Relax and Ride/Music City Star

The Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) is supported by member communities. Created in 1988, RTA provides ridesharing opportunities in order to promote the economic growth of our membership and improve the air quality of our community.

RTA is led by a board of city and county mayors and community leaders, and serves the following areas that are listed with their member cities/towns:

Cheatham County

Davidson County

Dickson County

Montgomery County

Robertson County

Rutherford County

Sumner County

Williamson County

Wilson County

Services of the Regional Transportation Authority
RTA operates 10 regional bus routes between downtown Nashville and the following cities: Clarksville, Dickson, Franklin, Gallatin, Hendersonville, Joelton, La Vergne, Murfreesboro, Smyrna, Springfield, Spring Hill, and Thompson's Station. RTA works closely with the Nashville Metropolitan Transit Authority (www.nashvillemta.org) linking riders with 46 routes provided throughout Davidson County. In addition, RTA's rideshare program organizes vanpools and carpools for commuters throughout Middle Tennessee.

The RTA also oversees the Music City Star regional rail. The first segment of the regional rail connects Davidson and Wilson counties. The East Corridor utilizes a 32-mile section of track belonging to the Nashville & Eastern Railroad Authority. Tracks, signals and bridges were upgraded and replaced and various grade crossings have been improved. There are six stations: Riverfront, Donelson, Hermitage, Mt. Juliet, Martha and Lebanon. Three trains provide weekday morning and evening service each peak period.

Our representatives work with area businesses to provide access, through the use of our transit system, to an expanded available workforce. Workers can depend on reliable transportation to get them to and from their jobs.

As an FTA recipient agency, RTA must set and meet annual overall Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Goals. In accordance with the FTA regulation, RTA has chosen to calculate its DBE Goal by adopting the Goal developed by the Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) as TDOT is a DOT recipient agency and both agencies procure from the same general area.

Office Hours
The Regional Transportation Authority office is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The RTA office is closed on New Year's Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. RTA services do not operate on these holidays.

Relay Service 711
The State of Tennessee provides a free, state-wide assisted relay service at 711 so people who use text telephone (TTY) or other assisted device are able to have phone conversations with people who do not have TTY numbers.

This confidential service is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week from anywhere in the United States. There is no charge to either person in the conversation. Since operators who answer use voice and TTY, dialing 711 works whether or not the person placing the call is using a TTY.

Outside of the state, Tennessee residents may call the following numbers:

(800) 848-0298 — Person with TTY calling someone without TTY.
(800) 848-0299 — Person without TTY calling someone with TTY.

Regional Transportation Authority of Middle Tennessee
430 Myatt Drive ~ Nashville, TN 37115     phone: (615) 862-8833     fax: (615) 862-6208     email: rta@nashville.gov
In association with TDOT (Tennessee Department of Transportation), FTA (Federal Transit Administration), and MPO (Nashville Area Metropolitan Planning Organization)
RTA is a Clean Air Partner of Middle Tennessee and a Clean Air Partner of Williamson County
©2011-2021 Regional Transportation Authority of Middle Tennessee